Tint Removal

Tint removal service? Unfortunately, this service has become necessary for many of us who live in New York (NY) State.  The state's new window tinting laws are now being forced at the time of your next car inspection.  Although your friends at Tint Pros do not agree with this law we are even more upset at the exorbitant prices many car inspection service stations are changing to remove the tint at the time of your vehicle inspection.  Since your car/vehicle is already in the shop and the process of removing your vehicle, have the tint removed, and then go back another day for the inspection is time consuming, most of us just allow the service station to remove and take off the tint.

If you are reading this information than please give us a call before your next vehicle inspection.

Our professional and courteous staff are experts in window tinting and can perform the tint removal service better and at a fair price.

ny state tint law

New York State window tinting laws


Come to TINT PROS !!


Any MPV needs to remove tint off 2 front doors. 

Any passenger vehicle needs to remove window tinting on both sides front & rear. The rear windshield is allowed to be tinted by law. 

The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) released a new video designed to educate consumers on New York State’s new window tinting law, which went into effect on January 1, 2017 and requires window tint testing during annual motor vehicle inspections.  While testing during the vehicle inspection is new, the tinting standards are not.  Since 1992, New York State law has required that all windshield and front side windows allow at least 70 percent of outside light to pass through.  The new law is designed to better protect law enforcement by keeping vehicles with excessive tinting off the road.

New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law does not allow a windshield or front side windows to block more than 30 percent of the light coming into a vehicle, meaning that 70 percent or more of the light from the outside must pass through the window.  This law also applies to the rear window unless the vehicle has outside rear-view mirrors on both sides that provide the driver with a full and clear view behind the vehicle.  Rear side windows must also allow at least 70 percent of light from the outside to pass through the window if the vehicle is classified as a station wagon, sedan, hardtop, coupe, hatchback or convertible.  A vehicle falls into one of these categories if it is labeled “Passenger Car” on the Federal ID label found on the left front door panel.  But if the label says MPV (multi-purpose vehicle), minivan, SUV, pickup truck, bus, etc., then the vehicle’s side windows to the rear of the driver’s seat are exempt from widow tint inspection.  

State law requires that all vehicles registered in New York must get a safety inspection at a DMV-licensed inspection station every 12 months and also when the ownership of the vehicle is transferred. 
vehicle window tint percentages